Texas, like every other state, has its own child support guidelines that govern how much child support a noncustodial parent must pay. In Texas, child support is calculated by multiplying the paying parent’s net income, also referred to as “net resources”, by a percentage that is set in the guidelines. The net income or net resources is determined by the child support tax tables and credits are allowed for the cost of medical insurance for the children, state income taxes and union dues.
Generally the percentages are:
One Child 20%
Two Children 25%
Three Children 30%
Four Children 35%
Five Children 40%
Six + Children Not less than Amount for Five Children
Support calculation for a parent with $2,000 net monthly income and two children: $2,000 (net monthly income) x .25 (25% for two children) = $500 per month in monthly child support
Also, there are 17 factors which the Court may consider in determining if the application of the guidelines would be unjust or inappropriate under the circumstances which are set out in Section 154.123 of the Texas Family Code.
A noncustodial parent is required to pay child support until the child reaches the age of 18 and until a child graduates from high school if the child is enrolled and regularly attending, the child marries or enlists in the military, becomes legally emancipated, or marries.
A court may order child support for an indefinite period if the child is physically or mentally disabled.
A child support order can be modified if circumstances change, for additional questions contact the Law Offices of John A. Mead and schedule an appointment.